Nintendo Direct, 9.14.23

September 14, 2023

Honestly, this Nintendo direct didn't feel like it had too much that was stand-out interesting to me. Truthfully, only really three things that were announced I actually feel interested in, and two of them are series I haven't really touched yet. Though it works as some motivation to try out something newer.

If you haven't watched the Nintendo Direct yet, click here to watch it, then come back and read.

 

Mario VS Donkey Kong

A surprising choice for a remake. I don't have much interest in it myself, but I still think it's neat. Although, I think adding co-op multiplayer would completely break the game.

 

Horizon Chase 2

I got Horizon Chase: Turbo for free from the Epic Games Store, and I enjoyed it quite a bit. The gameplay was simple, and it kind of felt a bit like an arcade game being played directly on my computer. That game felt a bit visually bland, but the sequel here looks pretty cool.

 

Super Mario RPG

I am legitimately excited for this game. Just as it was announced I was getting an urge to try the original out. It looks like a faithful remake of the original game, and I love the art style. They didn't show off much that was new, so I suspect this is going to mostly just the original game, which - as someone who has never played the original game - I am perfectly fine with.

 

Princess Peach: Showtime!

I think the concept of using different costumes to change your move set is interesting... Although, I suspect it's just going to go the way of having one costume per world and there will be minimal opportunity to use costumes outside of the worlds they're introduced in.

 

Tomb Raider I-III Remastered

I never played Tomb Raider before. It's one of those games that I keep telling myself I should try out at some point, but I never get around to doing so. I think this release might be a good opportunity to push myself into actually trying it.

 

Trombone Champ

Honestly, when I remember this game, I can't help but just think of that one video of One Winged Angel.

Watch it, it's hilarious.

 

Luigi's Mansion 2 HD

I think it's cool that they're putting this game on the Switch. Personally, I would've preferred a remake of the original Luigi's Mansion, but that was already remade on the 3DS just 5 years ago.

Although personally, I think Dark Moon stepped the series into a more disappointing direction. I haven't played the original Luigi's Mansion, but from what I know about that game it feels more connected. Luigi's Mansion 2 has the game separated into linear missions, and the world is split across a few different mansions. And Luigi's Mansion 3 is split between different floors that are separated via elevator. They just don't actually feel connected.

 

F-Zero 99

God damn it I thought it'd be a new entry in the series and I'd have an excuse to get into the series like with Pikmin! Either way, taking the retro battle royale format Nintendo has been doing the past few years and applying that to a racing game is a neat idea.

 

Mario Kart 8 Deluxe - Booster Course Pass Wave 6

Wii Daisy Circuit is a neat course, so I'm glad it's going to be returning. And bringing back Diddy Kong and...

DAMN IT FUNKY KONG IS BACK I HATE THAT DISGUSTING APE HE DOESN'T DESERVE A SPOT IN THE ROSTER BURN IT WITH FIRE

Oh yeah, and Pauline is cool too. Peachette not as much but sure... Although, weren't there only spots for two more characters? Doesn't this mean they have to add an extra row?

 

Among Us

I never really got into playing Among Us myself, kind of hard to do that without a group of friends willing to, but I always liked watching it on YouTube, so I kind of hope the new map brings it back into the spotlight a bit.

 

Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door

Fucking what? Thousand-Year Door? I mean, I get it, this game is said to be really good, but the original is kind of skipped over. Honestly, it would've been neat if they did both Paper Mario games and released them as a two-pack.

But anyway, this looks like a good sign for the Paper Mario series. Remaking Thousand Year Door suggests that they're going to actually remember the game and what made it so well received among fans, and maybe apply that to future entries.

I guess I have to try out Paper Mario now.

 

Overall Thoughts

There was quite a bit neat in this game. I'm mostly still excited for Pikmin 4, but Super Mario RPG, Penny's Big Breakout, and Super Mario Bros. Wonder have me intrigued.

And Sonic Superstars seems like it might be interesting too, although I'll wait until the reviews come out for that one.